Blackrock Raft Race & Family Fun Day 2018


Here are the results of the various competitions from the 2018 Blackrock Raft Race and Family Fun Day. Congratulation to all the winners, but also to everyone who took part, and of course all our sponsors.

BLACKROCK RAFT RACE (Sponsored by Glam Rock)

1st           Arrowsmith Construction

2nd          Fine Living

3rd           Van Dijk Architects

Special Award   Mace Blackrock

SCHOOLS TALENT COMPETITION (In association with The Reynolds Academy of Performing Arts)

1st                           Bainca Mabona, Aoife and Julie Soraghan – St Fursey’s School

2nd                         Lily O’Callaghan – St Fursey’s School

Joint 3rd              Alice McKeever – St Fursey’s School

Lincoln Smyth– St Fursey’s School

JUNIOR POC FADA (In association with Blackrock Hurling & Camogie)

Under 10 Girls

1st     Tara Reilly                 St Kevins

2nd    Grace King               St Kevins

3rd    Meadhbh Thornton    St Brides

Under 13 Girls

1st     Sarah Cahill              Blackrock

2nd    Alanah Voigt           Blackrock

3rd     Lauren Carroll       Blackrock

Under 10 Boys

1st    Shane McGuinness     Naomh Moninne

2nd   Cathal Traynor            Killeavey

Under 13 Boys

1st     Conor White           Naomh Moninne

2nd    Alan Fitzpatrick     Knockbridge

3rd    Sam Phelan              Naomh Moninne

SANDCASTLE COMPETITION (Sponsored by Tiernan’s  Centra Blackrock)

Parent & Child:  




Younger Children:

Anna Loua

Sand Land


Older (Tweens/Teens):

The Sandy’s

Prison Castle

The Great Wall of Blackrock

Best use of  Beach Materials:

Bellurgan Fort

Turtle Eating the Ice Cream


Most Creative:

Alley and Hannah

Jurassic Fans

Pacific James


1st Prize – 50” Smart TV sponsored by Lally’s Electrical:  David Broe

2nd Prize – One Year’s Gym Membership sponsored by Felda:   Emma Lynn

3rd Prize – A Night at the Races sponsored by Dundalk Stadium:  Pat Mullen

Other prizes sponsored by McQuillan’s Pharmacy, Louth County Council, The Hair Shop, Cooley Distillery, Dr. Tom Hogan:  Aileen Reidy, Evelyn Fallon, Sharon Johnson, Kate Smyth, Brian McElroy, Gearoid McMahon, Gene McKenna, Fr Padraig Keenan, Paula McKeown, Fergal Cassidy, Seamus Laverty, Anne McKenna



RaftRaceTrophyHere are the winners of the Blackrock Tidy Towns Raft Race since its inception in 1996

  • 1996 – The Gates Inn (The Black Pig), Blackrock
  • 1997 – The Gates Inn (The Black Pig), Blackrock
  • 1998 – The Gates Inn (The Black Pig), Blackrock
  • 1999 – The Gates Inn (The Black Pig), Blackrock
  • 2000 – The Bayview Inn (The Black Pig), Blackrock
  • 2001 – The Bayview Inn (The Black Pig), Blackrock
  • 2002 – The Bayview Inn (The Black Pig), Blackrock
  • 2003 – The Bayview Inn (The Black Pig), Blackrock
  • 2004 – The Bayview Inn (The Black Pig), Blackrock
  • 2005 – The Cross Border Orchestra of Ireland
  • 2006 – St. Oliver Plunkett School, Blackrock
  • 2007 – Seniors Money, Dundalk
  • 2008 – Rocky Ship, Inniskeen
  • 2009 – Mooretown Mafia, Dromin
  • 2010 – The Sopranos, Carrickmacross/Castleblayney
  • 2011 – The Bayview Inn, Blackrock
  • 2012 – Louth Community Mens Shed
  • 2013 – Louth Community Mens Shed
  • 2014 – Smyth’s Life Pharmacy
  • 2015 – Seatown Men’s Shed
  • 2016 – The Village Garden
  • 2017 – Geraldines GFC
  • 2018 – Arrowsmith Construction